1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Recommending beers others can get, not ones they can't

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by cavedave, Feb 17, 2013.

1. cavedave

cavedave Champion (940) New York Mar 12, 2009

Okay, for about the billionth time I have seen a thread asking for recommendations, and for the billionth time folks are recommending beers OP cannot possibly get, sometimes cannot get even by trade. For instance, an imaginary example, recommending Pliny The Younger to some Georgia resident who wants to try a great IIPA.

Some folks do this purely to hype their own locals, or to blow their own horn, as in "see, I can get this fantastic beer, you can't, aren't you jealous now?"

Others are not aware that there is an easy to use, wonderful website for beer distribution. Even better it is admin.'ed by a great BA., seekabrew.com.

Let's take the moment necessary to make good recommendations to folks of beers they can get more easily. It is a lot simpler for us to check first before replying than for an OP to sift through a thread of recommendations for those few actually distro to area.

Prob. not a lot to reply to here, but any suggestions/replies that will keep this bumped so all can see it and learn is appreciated. Cheers!

dar482, AxesandAnchors, Tut and 16 others like this.
  2. drtth

drtth Champion (860) Pennsylvania Nov 25, 2007

This is a two sided problem. Lets also get those people asking for a recommendation to post the request in their regional forum and indicate clearly where they are located so it actually is possible for recommenders to have a shot a guessing what might be local to the person making the request.