Sculpin IPA vs Sucks vs Nugget Nectar

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by SloppyJoeWasAMan, Apr 2, 2013.

?

Sculpin IPA vs Sucks vs Nugget Nectar

1. Ballast Point Sculpin IPA

27.0%
  2. Lagunitas Sucks

53.8%
  3. Troegs Nugget Nectar

19.1%
  1. Three of my favorite warm weather brews (though I haven't had a chance to try many of the greats yet as I'm quite new to this).

Which do you prefer?

2. I'd say Sucks, with NN a close second - and Sculpin a distant third.

3. Haven't had NN so can't say. And only had Sculpin once.

4. Nectar

Nectar Savant (310) New Jersey Jan 17, 2013

NN then sucks then sculpin.

Unfair to me though as 9/10 sculpin you see around here are ancient

5. Sucks and nugget are so different though. nn is an imperial amber and sucks is a IIPA... They are both delicous, It is hard to compare them though.

I personally like sucks and nugget about the same. sculpin is third.

Now sculpin and sucks can compare easy. With sucks running away with it.

6. gshak

gshak Advocate (520) Texas Feb 20, 2011

Never had NN, but I've had fresh Sucks and Sculpin. Sculpin wins. Sucks to me, is just a touch too sweet. IF only they could bring the sweetness down a notch, it'd be a closer contest.

7. rails

rails Aficionado (180) California Nov 8, 2012

Fresh Sculpin from the brewery is divine a straight up fruit bomb. You people picking sucks have never had truly fresh sculpin. Never had Troegs Nugget Nectar

8. Yeah right. Sculpin is obviously better than Sucks taste wise. It's not even debatable. Can't really compare NN in the equation since its a totally different style.

9. schildres

schildres Aficionado (185) Maryland Oct 14, 2010

I'm a huge fan of all three. Sucks and Sculpin are so good, but personally I can never get enough NN. Even though its not technically an IPA.

Cheers

PHBoiler, SammyJaxxxx and dan027 like this.