1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Starting a Cellar (noob) How do you keep track?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by EvoJoe, Feb 6, 2013.

1. Hey guys,

I am new to the craft brew world and have just started to "Cellar" beers. I say "Cellar" because im not yet at the point of storing for aging purposes, right now its mostly an inventory of beers I want to taste and share. So my question is, what do you guys do to keep track of what you have? I have maybe 30 bottles in my inventory right now and have already double bought because i didnt remember buying it. Ive read around and have seen a lot of excel sheets on google docs. That seems to be the most common. I also found this thread which has a few apps but mostly for droid, ive got an iphone.

http://beeradvocate.com/community/threads/cellar-manager.65574/

What do you guys use to keep your inventory straight but most importantly, what do you guys keep track of in there? Obvious is the Beer Name, Brewery, Style and Quantity. Do you keep track of Purchase Date, Batch Date, Enjoy By Date, Price? Do you rate your beers in there also? Im curious as to what everyone does.

Heres what I have so far in my Inventory:

Foothills Sexual Chocolate X3
    Lagunitas Sucks X3
    Hopslam X8
    GD Oak Aged Yeti
    GD Espresso Aged Yeti
    GD Chocolate Aged Yeti
    Avery The Beast Grand Cru (2011) X4
    Ommegang Rare Vos
    Still Water Artisanal Folklore - The Tale of Van Winkle
    Olde Hickory OA Daniel Boone x2
    BFM bfm abbaye de saint bon-chien 2011
    BFM bfm abbaye de saint bon-chien 2006
    Monks Cafe Flemish Sour Ale
    Fullers Vintage Ale 2011 x3
    Hoppin Frog BA Oatmeal Imperial Stout

Theres more but i cant remember them!

Thanks
    Joe
  2. je1129

je1129 Aficionado (220) Iowa Feb 22, 2011

3. Hanzo

Hanzo Champion (955) Virginia Feb 27, 2012

Google Drive spreadsheet.