1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Suggestion for Honey Bourbon Stout Recipe

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by AlexHouston, Feb 7, 2013.

1. I've done some research and think I've conjured up a decent recipe, though I'm a little unsure of the total amount of grain and can always use another pair of eyes to look over it. I was thinking of doing something like this

Marris Otter - 5 lbs
    Flaked Oats - 1lbs
    British Chocolate - 2 lbs
    Extra Special - 1lbs
    Honey Malt - 2lbs
    Coffee Malt -1lbs
    Black Malt - .5 lbs

Dark Extract - 3.3 lbs

Magnum, East Kent and Galena for the hops. American Oak chips soaked in bourbon before being added in the secondary. Any comments are appreciated.
  2. TheMonkfish

TheMonkfish Initiate (0) Chad Jan 8, 2012

Holy cow that's a lot going on there. I'm still fairly new to the HB game so I can't even guess as to what the finished product would be but it sounds like a totally ambitious and interesting project.

The only thing I could contribute would be that I'd consider some rice hulls to deal with the flaked oats (I would considering my equipment - to me it's cheap insurance against a stuck sparge, but you probably have a good feel on how your equipment handles that.)

Let us know how it goes.
  3. pweis909

pweis909 Advocate (695) Wisconsin Aug 13, 2005

What volume?