1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Suggestions for a good earthy beer?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Kristenagrady, Jan 5, 2013.

1. Kristenagrady

Kristenagrady Zealot (80) Jan 1, 2013

I'm new to Beer Advocate and beer in general. I've previously been a wine drinker, and probably my favorite aroma/flavor is a nice, deep earthiness. Like a wet dirt, almost fungal quality. Are any certain kinds of beers known for this quality? Any suggestions for beers to look for? Thanks!
  2. You can get some of these aromas and flavors from beers like gueuze and lambic.
    JxExM likes this.
  3. BenFrost

BenFrost Zealot (75) California Oct 15, 2010

I'd suggest any beer with brettanoymyces added. Maybe an Orval, Green Flash Rayon Vert, or Goose Island Matilda? There are a lot of others.
    dvelcich likes this.
  4. JamesMN

JamesMN Savant (360) Minnesota Jul 12, 2012

Some hop strains can have an 'earthy' flavor to them, so maybe try some IPAs that are described in reviews as having that flavor. Sam Adams Latitude 48 comes to mind as well as many East Coast/English IPAs. Although, if you're not into a lot of bitterness than this probably wouldn't be the best route to go.
  5. Chinon01

Chinon01 Savant (440) Pennsylvania Jan 23, 2007

Boon Oude Geuze Mariage Parfait. Had this for NYE. Tremendous funk and sourness w/ apple and grape flavors. Reminded me of a funky Champagne. Wonderful beer.
    JxExM and Hotmetal1 like this.
  6. Saison Brett
    Gosox8787 and cavedave like this.
  7. Russian River Supplication for sour
    Kasteel Rouge Ale for sweet
  8. sendsilk

sendsilk Savant (490) Florida Aug 31, 2007

Orval seems about right. Disgusting earth smell, taste.
    kuhndog likes this.
  9. spoony

spoony Advocate (515) Colorado Aug 1, 2012