1. Don't miss our 7th annual American Craft Beer Fest featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers this May 30 & 31 in Boston, MA! Buy your tickets now!
  2. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Suggestions for a new guy

Discussion in 'Canada' started by JFL, Feb 5, 2013.

1. JFL

JFL Member

So, basically, I'm just getting into beer. I have loads of time to learn more, and being that I am not that long past my 19th, need some help to find some good beers to try

I'm wondering if anyone can give some suggestions for beers to try that would be available in BC. So far, I really enjoyed the Clova Ale IPA on tap at Big Ridge Brewpub, Driftwood Ale, Tree's Vertical Winter (And somewhat their Thirsty Beaver Amber, although that was more of an average to me), really like GIB's Lions Winter Ale. I found the Howe Sound Devils Elbow IPA a little too hoppy, but that may have changed as that was a couple months ago and I've started to quite like IPAs lately, and that was my first one that I had tried. There's a bunch of others that are quite average to me, most GIB brews, Keiths, OK springs pale ale and winter ale for example. I can't stand beers like Corona, Molson, Heineken and similar beers.

Any suggestions that can be given are much appreciated. Currently on the list of wanting to try are Red Racer Pale Ale, and eventually the IPA, but I'd like to build up to that one so that I can get proper enjoyment out of it, and preferably from the source, as well as wanting to try a couple others from Driftwood, since the pale ale was so good. I only have three of four friends who drink anything but garbage brews, and only two very knowledgeable on the subject (Fair enough, we're all 19-22 and most of my friends just want the cheapest, easiest alcohol delivery method) but unfortunately, they can't really teach me anything, since I am one of the younger guys