1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

That "Ahhh...yes." moment of beer enjoyment

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by MammaGoose, Feb 21, 2013.

1. MammaGoose

MammaGoose Aficionado (210) Wyoming Jan 10, 2013

I really never not enjoy a beer. Whether it's just an average sessionable go-to beer with dinner, or a tasting event, or a rare beer, or a new brewery. Or even a beer I buy and find out I don't like much, I still enjoy the experience of trying a new beer. Even, honestly, a PBR or a Coors Light in the appropriate situation. But sometimes, I just have that magical moment, with the perfect beer and the perfect moment, where I reach beer enlightenment.

I'm experiencing beer nirvana right now. After a long day, I just had a major breakthrough at work (I'm a radioactive chemist and I finally figured out a highly effective way to test for Uranium in environmental samples), I treated myself to a $10 4-pack of O'Dell's Myrcenary Double IPA, nobody is home, and I can sit and relax and savor a beer. I think I spent a whole five minutes smelling the floral aroma and setting it down to appreciate the hazy tangerine gold color and the linger of the head and then smelling it again. The first sip was like a citrusy hop detonation. And then left with a piney resin linger. At 9.3% (and being a 125lb lady who barely remembered to eat a cheese stick today), I definitely feel a slight buzzing warmth about halfway through this beer. One of those rare perfect beer moments.

Anyone else know what I'm talking about? :) I know we all enjoy beer, but sometimes we have a perfect enjoyment of a beer.

RWNay, buler87, darky and 11 others like this.