1. Rating beers by attributes (look, smell, taste, feel, overall) is back! Read the latest update ...
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

To disturb or not disturb the yeast, that is the question...

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Mattitude13, Dec 27, 2012.

1. I'm fairly new to the wide world of craft beers, about a year or so, so am a little lost about these 'directions' I read on my bottles. I've bought many wheat and Euro ales claiming that the proper way to drink them is to pour half into a glass, swirl the bottle, then pour the remaining beer in with the rest trying to get as much yeast as possible. So that's what I've been doin. But since digging deeper into the beer world, I've had quite a few(such as the Ommegang Scythe & sickle I'm drinking now) claim that the goal is to get vigor for head, but keep all the yeast stuck to the bottom and not in your glass. Ommegang and others I've seen that say to pour this way seem to be Belgian and German influenced, so why the completely opposite way of pouring? What is the reasoning for wanting the yeast from some brews, but not others who are closely related styles? Can anyone tell me what the difference or overall point of wanting yeast from one and not the others are?

DevilsCups likes this.
  2. DevilsCups

DevilsCups Savant (330) New York Mar 3, 2010

Yeast flavor I find to be complimentary to certain styles. Wittes, hefeweizens, certain other belgian styles are all a swirl and pour to me. For something like a bottle conditioned stout or hop-forward beer, I prefer to leave it all in the bottle.

cavedave, libbey, pinkgrenade and 2 others like this.
  3. Completely agree with DevilsCups.

DevilsCups likes this.
  4. CellarGimp

CellarGimp Savant (475) Missouri Sep 14, 2011