To Drink or To Trade?

Discussion in 'Beer Trading Talk & Help' started by alysmith4, Mar 13, 2013.

1. Just curious if most traders drink their trade, or trade their trade for something else.

I'm just getting into it, and I'm not sure that I'll be able to not drink my trades. (Not sure how I'm going to build up a cellar that way though!)

2. ChefBergo

ChefBergo Initiate (0) Illinois Nov 9, 2011

Three easy steps:

Step 1: Trade Beer
    Step 2: Cellar Beer
    Step 3: Drink Beer With Friends

Repeat

3. JustXBeer

JustXBeer Savant (290) California Nov 29, 2012

FTFY
    1. Step 1: Buy 2 of Every Beer
    2. Step 2: Drink Beer with Friends
    3. Step 3: Cellar other beer or trade
    4. Step 4: Move on to next Beer
    Repeat

4. MADPolo

MADPolo Initiate (0) Alabama Dec 19, 2012

I trade by one rule! If I haven't tried it, it doesn't get traded!

Otherwise, the two bottle rule applies. One to drink or share and one to cellar or trade.

5. One easy step:

Don't trade.

6. Don't trade your trade!!! It's poor form.

Hopsycho, cosmicevan, ravot and 5 others like this.
  7. Only trade trades, don't drink them, they've probably been tampered with. Especially if there's tape around the cap..

8. Or waxed at home.

9. Lane1

Lane1 Aficionado (205) California Jan 10, 2011

I'm a 2-3 bottle person when it comes to stuff I think has value. 1 to drink, 1 to trade, and 1 to age. Just depends on the cost of the beer and how much I like it. Some of the bigger ones I'll try to get multiples of to hold onto for myself and trade to others. Like Churchills. Me and three other buddies went down and got a total of 8 between the 4 of us. We plan to trade away 4-5 of them....but definitely keep some for us to enjoy!

alysmith4 likes this.
  10. "Share bottles with friends. Friends are better then cellars."~ ChadQuest(RIP)