Turkey Fryer as Boil Kettle

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by jaheussner, Jan 29, 2013.

1. So it seems like this would be the best option for me right now, but I'm curious to see how many other homebrewers employ this method. What are the pros and cons for using a Turkey Fryer? Are there any specific models that people can recommend? Does it even matter? I'm an HB noob right now, and probably wont start brewing for a couple of months, but I wanted to get a bit of advice on this before I started.

Thanks in advance for the help.

2. Just bought a 30 qt turkey fryer pot for $45 on Amazon. That is gonna be my go-to pot for a while.
    Its aluminum and light weight which is important if you are doing larger boils (5g) or mini mashes etc.

3. I also use the turkey fryer approach, seems to work out O.K. for me. Make sure you season it first though, by filling it with water and boiling for an hour. I've done 3 batches so far and all came out pretty good.

4. Just a note: I filled my kettle and boiled it to season it, then I learned you just need a little bit of water and cover it, letting the steam season the pot...

5. scurvy311

scurvy311 Savant (415) Louisiana Dec 3, 2005

I don't know the percentage, but it is the most common suggestion ive seen for those looking to go full wort boil.

Pros - FULL WORT BOILS, customizable, with care it will last as long as you want to keep it
    Cons - storage, it inevitably increases the likelihood you will spend more money on other stuff, weather dependent (more of a reality then a con but you have to boil outside)

6. bum732

bum732 Advocate (630) Lesotho Feb 18, 2008

I originally bought a turkey fryer and used that for 2-3 years. Now i live in an apartment complex that doesn't allow grills (including turkey fryers) but i still use the pot on the stove. Works great IMO.

7. scurvy311

scurvy311 Savant (415) Louisiana Dec 3, 2005