1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Westvleteren 12 vs Rochefort 10 and Bernardus 12

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by bochman, Mar 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bochman

bochman Initiate (0) Florida Oct 18, 2006

I am having a blind taste test to see if the most talked about beer is really all that it is cracked up to be. Three glasses 1,2,3. Three beer bottles hidden in the next room marked 1,2,3. There will be three rounds and evaluations made. It will be recommended to consult Beer Advocate or any other site for help. Have any of you done the exact same test or something similar. I am an old guy beer veteran and my two co-tasters will be young twenty something's. Let's see what happens. I will post the results here later today.

sholle, spookyspeeg and itchytasty like this.
  2. JWing

JWing Aficionado (165) Virginia Sep 3, 2012

Having tried the Rochefort 10 and Bernardus 12, I am very interested to see your results.

3. bochman

bochman Initiate (0) Florida Oct 18, 2006

The results were close. Westy was by far the most distinctive, easiest to recognize and it was my favorite overall pick. One other picked Westy and another chose the Rochefort. I am still undecided if the difference in quality that we noted justifies the $15 per bottle and rare availability as well. These three were all great brews. What do you have to say out there in beer land?

4. Did you shoot a video like this guy?

Cheers!

5. Rochefort 10 wins every time in a landslide.

6. RyFikes

RyFikes Savant (280) New York Jan 3, 2013

I haven't had all three, but Rochefort 10 is the greatest beer I've ever had.

7. coachdicarlo

coachdicarlo Initiate (0) Missouri Apr 20, 2012

We did it and added Chimay Blue to the mix. Westy 12 won.

azorie, hallandoates and kojevergas like this.
  8. eatabagofbooger

eatabagofbooger Savant (295) Oregon Mar 27, 2009