1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

What do you guys think of this setup?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by AndyTaylor, Feb 29, 2012.

1. leedorham

leedorham Champion (835) Washington Apr 27, 2006

For that kind of money, I think the morebeer tippy set-up is better. http://morebeer.com/view_product/8917//New_1550_Tippy_BrewSculpture

IMHO, none of these are really worth the money though. I brew using a wooden brewstand with heat shielding, a cooler mlt, and an SP10 burner. Sure it's ugly, but you couldn't improve on the quality of my beer or speed up my brew day by brewing with one of those fancy sculptures.

2. wow pretty crazy for a newbie I have been brewing for a couple years and only got my tun, and fermenter, and chiller lol but thats cool:)

3. HerbMeowing

HerbMeowing Savant (385) Virginia Nov 10, 2010

I guess if you can afford $3K for a 15G system...you can afford to dump a few batches while you learn to use it.

Looks unstable...too.

4. barfdiggs

barfdiggs Savant (420) California Mar 22, 2011

I second that. Get a MoreBeer one if you're going to drop that much cash on a structure.

5. utahbeerdude

utahbeerdude Savant (415) Utah May 2, 2006

Sheesh, for $3000 I'd take a welding course, buy the welding equipment, build one myself, and likely have plenty left over for plenty of homebrew batches!

darklordlager likes this.
  6. HerbMeowing

Also notice how hard it would be to get it back in that garage!

7. Another vote here for the MoreBeer set-up. The MB options look far slicker and of higher build quality.

8. Thanks for the link. Can you recommend a simpler system, that would let a beginner get started quickly? Assembling something is no problem, but not wanting to build from scratch.

Can you recommend a system that is a better value?

Thanks. I'll check that out.