1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

What is the temperture threshold on shipping?

Discussion in 'Beer Trading Talk & Help' started by lonewolfcry, Jan 11, 2013.

1. I'm fairly new to trading & in the middle of a couple of trades.
    I live in MN, they live in CA.
    Is there a point (temperature wise) that we have to call it off and just wait?

I would believe, with ground service, as long as it's not like a constant 10 degrees (or below that), if your beer is packed/insulated well - than we should be good to go.

Any input would be much appreciated. I'm planning on shipping tomorrow & next week for my return box, the forecast is to be highs in teens & 20's next week.

Thanks in advance for your replies.
  2. This topic keeps coming up, it's easiest just to search.

For quick reference summary though:

Below 30 degrees and you should start getting a little nervous.

Below 25 degrees and you are solidly into potential freezing territory.

Below 20 degrees and you should really not ship under any circumstances because your bottles will freeze and potentially explode.

A couple of other points:

It's not the "highs" you want to go by, it's the "lows". Those boxes generally just sit on a cold truck overnight.

Packing/insulation has a negligible effect. Without a heat source inside the box, the insides will eventually reach equilibrium with the outsides. And that doesn't take more than a few hours to do with standard beer box style packaging.

Hate to break it to you, but living in MN you should more or less just shut down the idea of trading for the winter. If you insist, you really want to wait for a week where the lows are going to be 25+.
    jegross2, tewaris, Brew33 and 2 others like this.
  3. MordorMongo

MordorMongo Initiate (0) Jul 19, 2009

Also remember windchill especially if box may sit on a porch for a few hours.
  4. moose3285