1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

what should my first IPA be?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by loafinaround, Feb 14, 2013.

1. loafinaround

loafinaround Savant (370) New York Jul 16, 2011

stout girl here.... I <3 stouts. really I do. Drink at least 1 a night.

BUT, I'm missing out by remaining so myopic. Can tell you that I've had a lot of bad experiences with sours, and let downs with lagers, and even some ales. I like brown ales, and some belgians, but that's really it.

Do you think I'd like an IPA? And specifically, which one would be a good first try? (Live in the ny metro area, so some west coast brews aren't about here)
  2. SenorHops

SenorHops Savant (375) Rhode Island Aug 10, 2010

I think Victory Hopdevil is a great first IPA.
    LMT, ucfalum08, Sokool and 3 others like this.
  3. tectactoe

tectactoe Advocate (740) Michigan Mar 20, 2012

Given your area... Flower Power!
  4. Sierra Nevada Torpedo. Its hoppy but not too too hoppy and is good for a first time IPA IMO.
  5. smo

smo Aficionado (175) New Jersey Apr 11, 2012

I second this!
    SammyJaxxxx and HopNuggets like this.
  6. mklisz

mklisz Advocate (540) New Hampshire Dec 31, 2010

I would ease yourself in with APAs before jumping head first into IPAs. Try Dale's Pale and Sierra Nevada Pale to get your feet wet.
  7. Nectar

Nectar Savant (310) New Jersey Jan 17, 2013

Flower Power!
    SammyJaxxxx likes this.
  8. you're in NY? Try a Smuttynose Finestkind IPA.
  9. alucard6679

alucard6679 Savant (260) Arizona Jul 29, 2012