1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

What was Your Matrix "Red pill" moment?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by BeerMeFitz, Apr 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BeerMeFitz

BeerMeFitz Savant (320) Illinois Oct 24, 2011

Everyone at one time was living in a world drinking bad beer(Bud,Miller etc...) until they had that ONE great beer and they awoke from their sleep and realized there are GREAT beers in this world and I am going to drink every one of them. What was your Red pill and by that I mean what was your 1st great beer, where were you and how long ago did it happen?

Willbfun likes this.
  2. I wish i had a "red pill" moment. but for me it was more of a gradual "almost neutral pill" moment. I graduated from bud lite, to blue moon, to dos xxx, to left hand milk stout. I wish I had an epiphany but it was more of a grooming process for me.

3. fullmetal1381

fullmetal1381 Savant (270) Florida Jul 30, 2011

Three Philosophers, approximately fall 2010. I still love that beer.

BJRHOMEBREW and cnbrown313 like this.
  4. Early 90's
    Three Crowns Pub, Wiltshire - a fine setting for epiphany
    Wadworth's 6X - A modest bitter
    Beer changed forever that day

5. TomTwanks

TomTwanks Initiate (0) Ohio Apr 5, 2011

Hands down, Old 21 by the Brew Kettle. Was going there at 16 and one day I was like, " God damn, this is tasty!" A couple thousand dollars later....

robconoclast likes this.
  6. LaneMeyer

LaneMeyer Savant (390) California Mar 20, 2011

Senior year in high school - Guinness Extra Stout

DROOO likes this.
  7. Cant really remember when I learned that there was much more to beer than BMC. I was pretty young.