1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Wheat Free Beer?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by koctail, Aug 15, 2013.

1. koctail

koctail Initiate (10) California Aug 15, 2013

I have been doing this "Wheat Belly" diet for about 4 months. During that time I have tried gluten free Omission which isn't bad, but I was told it is high in carbs and basically just as bad as traditional beer. I am not gluten intolerant, but I am eliminating wheat from my diet. I was told by the guy that invented the diet that Michelob Ultra and Stella Artois contain no Wheat. I was also reading that Bud and Bud light may contain no wheat....are made with corn.

What other beers do any of you know of that contain no wheat? Do many of the American light lager style beers not contain wheat?
  2. UncleJimbo

UncleJimbo Site Editor (945) Massachusetts Sep 11, 2002 Staff Member

Most beers styles are not made using wheat. Barley is most often used. However, if you are trying to eliminate every trace of wheat that is another story, as it might be hard to tell whether a specific beer contains traces of wheat.

Most macro American lagers do not contain wheat. Hefeweizens and American Wheats both are made with large percentages of wheat malt.
    Mothergoose03 and BeerKangaroo like this.
  3. Wheat is different from other malts such as adjuncts like corn and rice, because when a beer is made from/with wheat, it [usually] entirely changes the style. You're pretty safe to assume that most AALs are wheat-free, although traces can't be ruled out I suppose.
  4. Pahn

Pahn Advocate (695) New York Dec 2, 2009

the list of beers that don't use wheat is considerably longer than the list of beers that do.

are you trying to avoid gluten or wheat? the former is tough. the latter is very easy.