Acid reflux issues with IPAs?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Iemolo, Feb 4, 2015.

1. Iemolo

Iemolo Initiate (0) Feb 4, 2015

I'm new to BA so forgive me if this is a "dead horse" of a discussion. I'm a big fan of hoppy flavors, but I've found that many of the recent IPA's send my acid reflux into overdrive. I'm good with lagers, pilsners, stouts (non coffee or choc), saisons, but most ales in general are not my friend. Does anyone else have a similar problem or have any insight to share? Is it a function of the hops, the type of yeast, spice notes, or something else altogether? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!!

hommeside2 likes this.
  2. denverbeerguy

denverbeerguy Initiate (0) May 10, 2013 Colorado

Hey there. May I ask if you would consider yourself "overweight?" I personally didn't have any acid reflux issues until I got heavily involved in craft beer and gained about 30 pounds. I have been healthier as of late and lost that 30 pounds and surprise! No more heartburn.

Other than that you are drinking something that is extremely acidic (the bitterness literally comes from "alpha acids") so I wouldn't be surprised if they cause issues for some people similar to coffee and acidic juices.

3. Alexmc2

Alexmc2 Aspirant (240) Jul 29, 2006 Massachusetts

Could be the carbonation levels combined with the higher alcohol content? I have acid reflux myself, which is pretty well controlled with medication. If I don't use it consistently though, alcohol bothers me quite a bit in general.

4. Hoppsbabo

Hoppsbabo Champion (861) Jan 29, 2012 United Kingdom (England)
    Trader

Do you have a balanced diet? Beer used to give me acid reflux all the time until I improved my diet.

rtrasr and PsilohsaiBiN like this.
  5. Uniobrew31

Uniobrew31 Zealot (503) Jan 16, 2012 Pennsylvania
    Trader

Nugget Nectar, not an IPA but hoppy none the less, definitely gives me heart burn.

6. hopfenunmaltz

hopfenunmaltz Meyvn (1,378) Jun 8, 2005 Michigan