Welcome to BeerAdvocate!

Looking to talk, rate or trade beer? Join today by creating your free account.

Dismiss Notice
Curious about recent updates to the site and app? Check the Announcements forum for updates.
Dismiss Notice
Love Belgian Beer?

Join us Sep 17 in Portland, Maine for Return of the Belgian Beer Fest, featuring hundreds of authentic Belgian beers and Belgian-inspired offerings.

Tickets + more: beeradvocate.com/belgian

Aging RR Consecration?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by troughnbrew, Jan 16, 2013.

1. troughnbrew

Any advice on what amount of aging is/is not appropriate for stronger sours? I've been keeping Consecration for about two years (the last 750 ML bottling, whenever that was, probably late 2010). Thanks for your thoughts.

2. evilc

Vinne says 3 years right on the bottle for that beer.

3. stealth

Beer Trader

Older = better, imho. I've had consecration past the '3 year' limit and it was extraordinary.

4. jtmartino

Beer Trader

That's one beer that keeps getting better and better. So damn underrated around here (Bay Area) with everyone trying to get sours from everywhere else.

cfh64 and afrokaze like this.
  5. starrdogg

Beer Trader

My personal experience with Consecration is that age doesn't necessarily make it better or worse, just different. I love that beer fresh, so maybe I'm not the best person to ask, but aging it just mellows the flavors a bit. The older bottles I've opened weren't as acidic or tannic as fresh bottles.

6. forgetfu

Beer Trader

I'm definitely a fresh consecration fan. Fresh, it's one of my favorite beers. With age, it's not my thing.

Knownfactor likes this.
  7. drgarage

Last year, we had a batch 1 750 (it was three years old at that point). Very different from fresh. Really intensely sour, crazy dry, thin body, and the carbonation had faded considerably. Still great, but not necessarily better than fresh. It would be your taste buds deciding which you prefer.

FeDUBBELFIST likes this.