Anheuser-Busch product placement in the movie Spring Breakers?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by hoppytobehere, Jun 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hoppytobehere

hoppytobehere Champion (818) Aug 10, 2012 District of Columbia

The only beer and neon signs I recall seeing in the movie are Natural Light and Bud Light. I'm no expert on product placement, but I'm assuming A-B had to be in on this, or at least allowed them to use their product in the movie, right?

For a company with the slogan "Drink Responsibly", this seems like odd behavior. The movie glorifies binge drinking like no other. If you've seen the movie, you know what I'm talking about.

And let me be clear: I'm far from a macro hater. I enjoy A-B products on occasion.

So maybe someone in the know can answer: Why would A-B would allow this? Or why would they promote their products this way?

2. tarawho

tarawho Initiate (0) Mar 12, 2008 New York

Cost effective advertising
    Their other slogan is "Here We Go"

3. otispdriftwood

otispdriftwood Initiate (0) Dec 9, 2011 Colorado

Allow it? Something tells me they encourage it. A slogan is just words. Actions speak louder.
    And oh yeah, saying you're not a macro hater will probably get you some hate on this website.

4. Ericness

Ericness Initiate (130) Nov 21, 2012 Massachusetts

Advertisement in a movie that hits what is probably one of their prime demographics. I don't think they really care in this case about whether or not the movie promotes binge drinking and once they make the product they really can't control how people use it. It's entertainment bringing in advertising dollars to them. We don't accuse the folks making that Breaking Bad tie in beer or supporting the production, sale, or use of Meth do we?

5. vasinger

vasinger Initiate (0) Sep 28, 2012 Illinois