Bine to dryhop (dry hopping with wet hops)

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by GeeL, Aug 31, 2018.

1. GeeL

GeeL Initiate (170) Aug 27, 2008 Massachusetts

This is my first crop of hops, so I'm new to this. A quick search has given me answers all over the map. So, I thought I'd keep trying for clarification.

I want to dry hop with wet hops...

Should I rinse them and let them air dry a bit before I put them in the beer? Should I microwave them a minute or two to kill anything that might be on them? Maybe dunk them in some starsan? Put them in the food dehydrator for a couple hrs?

Thanks.

2. GeeL

And, I'll be flushing the headspace with CO2 as I open it and put in the hops.

3. telejunkie

telejunkie Aspirant (237) Sep 14, 2007 Vermont

You can dry them for 5-7 days on screen or use the dehydrator if you want, or you can just add them right away with no drying. The drying process does alter the flavor profile of the hop, many people appreciate the change, but some enjoy the wet hop character.

No sanitation required...no organism lives on hops that is a potential threat to your already fermented beer.

If you have mutli-blad processor like a Ninja and don't mind some extra cleaning, you may consider processing them hops through it. Give better extraction of oils imho...

InVinoVeritas likes this.
  4. GeeL

Great thanks. I thought I might roll them in my hands to open them a little and tear some open too. I do have a food processor, maybe I'll run some through that.

5. GormBrewhouse

GormBrewhouse Disciple (385) Jun 24, 2015 Vermont

I would be concerned with possible contamination from insects.
    Spider mites, lady bugs and others can be on Or n your hop cones.

When I use wet hops, I usually use them from 15 to flameout.

Witherby and JackHorzempa like this.
  6. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Poo-Bah (3,645) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Premium

I am in 100% agreement with @GormBrewhouse here.