Can someone offer a quick explanation of Dubbel, Tripel, Quad, Abbey?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by D-Nice, Dec 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. D-Nice

D-Nice Initiate (0) Nov 22, 2013 Illinois

I'm just getting into these Belgian beer styles. For some reason, I always thought they were some sort of dark, heavy beers, similar to stouts, but they're, obviously, not. So far, I've only had Dubbel and Tripel, and I really am intrigued by what's going on - how they can vary from rather light and crisp to more full-bodied and earthy. And, they often seem to taste significantly lower in ABV than what they actually are.

But, are these actual beer style names? All of these are variants of a Belgian Ale? I read something about how Dubel, Tripel were coined simply because the monks were using double or triple of some ingredient in the brewing process or that the end result was double or triple in alcohol. If that is true, do the names today really describe what you're going to get? In other words, if you order various Tripels, would you expect them to have well-defined common attributes in addition to the small things that make them unique? Or are terms Dubbel, Tripel, etc., meant to denote a broader range of taste profiles and the commonness is simply the result of technique, not necessarily taste.

I've been having fun getting to to know these beers, and would like more info as I move forward. Thanks.

core42 likes this.
  2. WillemHC

WillemHC Initiate (133) Jun 21, 2013 Utah

JrGtr likes this.
  3. angrygrimace

angrygrimace Initiate (0) Apr 11, 2011 California