Does aging increase the ABV?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by UHCougar12, Mar 9, 2012.

1. UHCougar12

UHCougar12 Disciple (326) Feb 21, 2011 Texas

Someone once told me that when aging a higher abv(>8%) beer that the alcohol would increase 1-5% every year if properly cellared. Is their any truth to this theory? I'm fairly new to the aging beer scene(1-2yrs), and am just curious for general knowledge.

2. crusian

crusian Crusader (768) May 14, 2010 Oregon

generally, not really. There are cases where the fermentation has not stopped before it was bottled, and it would increase, but this also causes some problems where the bottles may explode. Jester King had to recall commercial suicide because of the continued fermentation. 1-5% per year is preposterous. If so, then I have a 200% beer in my cellar, whoo hoo!!

LuskusDelph, JrGtr and PleiadesUnite like this.
  3. Mavajo

Mavajo Initiate (0) Feb 10, 2007 Georgia

To the best of my knowledge, no.

4. yamar68

yamar68 Initiate (0) Apr 1, 2011 Minnesota

Beer needs to breathe in order to ferment. A 5% ABV increase would lead to cellar shrapnel.

5. UHCougar12

UHCougar12 Disciple (326) Feb 21, 2011 Texas

Thanks for the info.

6. Kibs33

Kibs33 Initiate (0) Jun 11, 2016 California

This is Weird, but I'm convinced my stout is stronger after being stored for 2 years. I swear it feels like 15% ABV now instead of the advertised 11%. Ask me the maker and I'll tell you. Hint: Southern Cal

7. AndrewK

AndrewK Aspirant (265) Oct 20, 2006 California

I think the person meant that it would increase by 1-5% of the total amount of alcohol, not the percent of alcohol in the beer, i.e. after a year a 10% beer would be a 10.1-10.5% beer.

8. Scott17Taylor

Scott17Taylor Meyvn (1,322) Oct 28, 2013 Iowa
    Trader

That makes more sense and maybe it does increase about that amount. Yes some beers that are bottle conditioned may have the abv rise a little but it wouldn't be anything I'd worry about.

9. RDMII