East Coast IPAs vs. West Coast IPAs. Then & Now.

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by dcgunman, Apr 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcgunman

dcgunman Meyvn (1,370) Jul 1, 2009 California
    Society Trader

I've been drinking IPA's since 2007. Stone Pale Ale was probably my introduction to the whole craft thing. Never drinking the Big 3 since the mid 70's. We'd always experimented with Lowenbrau, Michelob, exports from all over the world. Then 2007 brings my taste buds to the hopped up IPA's. Not only was I trying every style of beer then, I was trying alot of IPA's as that was the taste I enjoyed the most. And yes Dogfish Head, Flying Dog and others from the east coast were in the line up. But that quickly changed to mostly west coast IPA's after some dialing in. The east coast taste just wasn't what I was looking for then.
    Fast forward to mid 2015. . .and I am now a believer income of the IPA's coming out of the east coast. I not saying that the taste is east coast IPA's. But the new brewery's are putting out some outstanding IPA's from the east coast. I have to give it up for Other Half (Brooklyn), Bissell Brothers (Portland, Maine), Ithaca's Flower Power & Troegs Nugget Nectar. These are the few that I've tried. I'm waiting on some trades that will get me Lawsons and a few others from the east coast. Heady? Yes I've had that one a few times.
    So which one is better these days? I would still say the west coast IPA's are better. But watch out…the east coast is making it's mark in the IPA department.

mabermud, Brolo75 and Greywulfken like this.
  2. UCLABrewN84

UCLABrewN84 Initiate (0) Mar 18, 2010 California

Have you heard about these newfangled Vermont-stye IPAs?

BWM-77, Rollzroyce21, Brolo75 and 7 others like this.
  3. hopnado

hopnado Devotee (417) Aug 13, 2014 Michigan