FOB's when changing to a different beer

Discussion in 'Home Bar' started by CBOLAND17, Jul 12, 2017.

1. CBOLAND17

CBOLAND17 Aspirant (298) Sep 19, 2010 Pennsylvania
    Subscriber Beer Trader

So I see why FOB devices are great and useful to maximize profit for bars with long draw systems.

That being said, when a keg of Beer A kicks, the FOB prevents the foam from flowing through the line and then you want to put Beer B on that line next wouldn't you just end up with a flow of first Beer A and then Beer B right after that? Like wouldn't they kind of mix together? Obviously if you're putting on a keg of the same beer it makes total sense but I am just confused at how this would work when you're putting on a different beer next.

I am studying for my Cicerone exam and just want to be clear on this one. If someone could clarify that would be great, thanks!

2. DougC123

DougC123 Devotee (470) Aug 21, 2012 Connecticut
    Subscriber

3. billandsuz

billandsuz Aspirant (299) Sep 1, 2004 New York

Beer remaining in the line will be pushed by the next tapped keg. You can calculate the amount of beer in the line fairly accurately if you know the length of the line, but it is just as easy to pull a pint, or 2, or 3. And when the color changes you have the next beer. There is also a bit of foam and blowing beer but nothing like when a keg empties without a FOB. A good bartender or owner can maximize profits by selling every last ounce of the keg. The beers are only mixed where the meet in the line, say an ounce or 2. Roughly.