If a new brewery tries something new and creative but uterly fails, do you think of them negatively?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by biiru_ojisan, Feb 7, 2020.

1. biiru_ojisan

biiru_ojisan Initiate (152) Dec 22, 2018 Japan

Recently reviewed a creative beer from a brewery that just started fall 2019. It was labeled as a "Belgian Style Porter." I've never heard of such a thing, but I got a pour because I thought it was an interesting idea.

The beer mostly sucked, but I feel that I need to give the brewery some credit for trying something creative when they apparently aren't very experienced.

How do y'all feel about similar situations?

2. mickyge

mickyge Meyvn (1,022) Nov 1, 2014 Massachusetts
    Society Trader

I was a baker for quite a while and I got bored making the same formulas day in and day out. I loved when I had time to experiment.
    I think a business gets stagnant producing the same thing all the time. Creativity and innovation are some of the keys to success, especially for a new or smaller business. Some things are gold some things are bust. I wouldn't fault a brewery or any business for trying but having established quality products should be first and foremost.

DISKORD, meefmoff, beertunes and 8 others like this.
  3. JediMasterLenin

JediMasterLenin Disciple (302) Dec 25, 2018 District of Columbia

I think failure is to be expected when starting out. How I would react to said failure depends on how often they seem to fail and how the brewery follows through. I would respect them for trying to tweak the recipe on a later release when they've solidified their lineup.

4. EnronCFO

EnronCFO Zealot (531) Mar 29, 2007 Massachusetts

If they charged full price for a failure, yes.

IKR, GetMeAnIPA, dele and 4 others like this.
  5. AZBeerDude72

AZBeerDude72 Poo-Bah (1,877) Jun 10, 2016 Arizona
    Society Trader