I'm Jamil Zainasheff, owner/brewer of Heretic Brewing Co. Ask me anything.

Discussion in 'Ask Me Anything' started by jzainasheff, Jul 18, 2020.

1. jzainasheff

jzainasheff Initiate (50) Apr 8, 2017 California
    Brewery

I started as a homebrewer in 1999 on a Mr Beer kit my wife gave me for Christmas. I studied hard, did a lot of homebrewing and eventually became quite good at it, winning lots of awards. I started writing articles and books about brewing (Brewing Classic Styles and Yeast) and have been a host of the Jamil Show and Brew Strong since the beginning of the Brewing Network in 2005.

In 2011 we brewed our first batch of beer at Heretic Brewing Company. Despite many dumb moves on my part, the brewery has thrived. We brew everything from classic barrel aged sours to hazy IPAs. We added a distillery in 2017 and are anticipating some nice whiskeys soon. If you are ever around Fairfield California (near the Napa valley) come see us and have a pint with me.

About me? I love the things that I do. Once, back in the day, I was an owner in 3 paintball fields and developed one of the first semi-automatic paintball guns. I love SCUBA diving, became a Master SCUBA Diver Trainer, and developed the first computer based training for PADI. I used to be quite good at fencing in college (the sport, not the illegal selling of goods). I went to school at UC Davis, but never studied brewing there. I love traveling and meeting other brewers. My greatest love though is my wife Liz and my two daughters. All three are involved in the brewery and have supported me and my many passions. I wouldn't succeed without their support.

The last 15 years of answering questions and sharing bits of my personal life on the Brewing Network has prepared me for just about any question, so feel free to ask me anything.

2. basaywhat

basaywhat Poo-Bah (1,863) May 20, 2013 Illinois
    Society Trader