Keg Storage?

Discussion in 'Home Bar' started by MiamiBeer, May 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MiamiBeer

MiamiBeer Initiate (0) May 11, 2013 Florida

I have a question I couldn't find an answer for doing a quick search; hope this is the right place. I just purchased a keggerator and couldn't be happier. I also work in the restaurant business so I can order kegs through work at a substantial savings (35% off retail in some cases). My question is this: can I store a keg at room temp without it going bad? It seems to make sense that the integrity of the beer may be compromised going from cold to warm to cold again but am I correct to assume that this probably happens somewhere along the supply chain anyway? I'll most likely be getting an ale or pils. Thanks in advance and happy drinking!

2. billandsuz

billandsuz Aspirant (299) Sep 1, 2004 New York

domestic keg beer is not pasteurized in almost all cases and needs to be refrigerated.
    warm to cold to warm does not really have much to do with it.
    yes, keg beer will typically spend some time out of refrigeration, but not so long to be a problem.

you can not hold a keg of domestic beer, especially the typical light lager (Bud etc) in warm storage. bigger beers have more hops and alcohol which are preservatives, and this will give a little more protection against spoilage. domestic keg beer is not the same as bottle beer. it is packaged differently.

your co workers will want to argue this point. let them.
    Cheers.

jesskidden likes this.
  3. Timmush

Timmush Aspirant (290) Jan 5, 2008 New Jersey
    Beer Trader

I have a keg of Founders Imperial Stout in my cellar that I tap once a year for a month and then return to the cellar. and it is glorious.

Edit.. Just found this