Saving our batch?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by hdrider, Apr 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hdrider

hdrider Initiate (0) Jan 16, 2008 Michigan

did an un planned all grain brew yesterday at my buddies place. We where going for an American barleywine style. He is out in the boonies and no internet for a beer calculator. Im new to all grain but will now never brew extract again.
    After we got our yeast pitched I went home and plugged in our on the spot recipie.
    I was bummed about the results it gave. The IBU was super high at 165 and the O.G. we took matched hed the calcr esults at 1.070.
    My question is ...... Can we split the wort we have fermenting to two carboys and add 2.5 gallons of wort to each? If so, when is the best time to do so? Maybe a second fermentation? Maybe a slightly different grain bill for each carboy for experimental purposes?
    Any input would be apreciated! Hell.. this could turn out to very ibteresting

Original recipie:
    7 gallon boil.. 5 gallon batch ... boil time 90 min
    10 lbs two row pale
    2 lbs crystal 90
    1 lb special B
    .5 LB carapils

2 oz nugget @ 60 min
    1 oz centennial @ 40 min
    1 oz centennial @ 20 min
    1 oz centennial @ 5 min
    2 paks safale #4

2. mnstorm99

mnstorm99 Initiate (0) May 11, 2007 Minnesota

Did you take an actual gravity reading? I would say dry hop the hell out of it (2-4 oz) and call it an IPA. But, that is alot of crystal malt (26% total):rolling_eyes:

3. hdrider

Initial gravity was 1.071 right before pitching the yeast. Yeah, malt bill doesnt quite match an IPA... but there are some malty IPA's like DFH 90.... ??

4. utahbeerdude

utahbeerdude Disciple (387) May 2, 2006 Utah