The Humble Beginnings of a Beer Cellar (Help Wanted)

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by AdamSMiller, Oct 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AdamSMiller

AdamSMiller Initiate (0) Sep 29, 2012 Ohio

Cheers fellow beer geeks,

I've been enjoying craft beer for several years now, though, I just recently decided to start cellaring beers. So far I have accrued the following friendly faces:

Dogfish Head Bitches Brew
    Stone Imperial Russian Stout
    Stone Old Guardian
    Hair of the Dog Adam
    Mikkeller Beer Geek Cognac
    North Coast Otsuchi Old Stock 2012
    Widmer Brothers South By Southwest Reserve

I was wondering if those of you better versed in aging beers could lend me your advise. Generally, I'm curious as to how you think the aforementioned beers will age, and what beers you would recommend. I've heard good things about Thomas Hardy's Ale, and wouldn't mind getting my hands on a bottle... any information would be kindly appreciated.

In addition, I also thoroughly enjoy "better served fresh" beers. So, if you've got the lead on the newest IPA-bad-ass or the like, let me know.

Thanks to all,
    and I look forward to further assimilating into the Beeradvocate community!

2. UCLABrewN84

UCLABrewN84 Initiate (0) Mar 18, 2010 California

3. JohnB87

JohnB87 Initiate (0) Mar 14, 2011 Michigan

This will probably get moved to the appropriate forum, but there are many answers there, depending on where you live (and what you can get).
    Consensus: SN Bigfoot, Bell's Expedition, Stone RIS, Founders RIS...

Some people may recommend aging barrel-aged beers, but honestly, these beers weren't meant for aging in a cellar. A lot of barrel-aged beers have already been aged and are ready to be drank right meow.

For the most part though, I think you have a pretty good grasp on which beers would benefit from the aging process.

Cheers! And please post your results!

redblacks75 likes this.
  4. podunkparte