The (NAS) on Whiskey Labels

Discussion in 'Other Beverages' started by gatornation, May 2, 2019.

1. gatornation

gatornation Poo-Bah (4,971) Apr 18, 2007 Minnesota
    Trader

I enjoy Bourbon & Rye but admitting I'm still a novice,love this new forum BTW. My question is why are distiller's putting the Age Statement to the back of the bottle or removing it all together? Is it to re --introduce a labeled 10 or 12 YO product for a more premium price, or is it a supply issue to get product out to store's. Are most premium bottles 6-8 years anyway weather they are straight, BIB, or single barrel. Confused by this loads of folks on here with more knowledge than me. Please discuss.

TimG_0913 and Squire like this.
  2. TimG_0913

TimG_0913 Aspirant (242) Oct 6, 2014 Delaware
    Trader

I'm really not sure why they are doing it. But generally speaking the BIB bourbons are the ones to watch out for, due to the fact they have the most "rules." Definitely quality material, not taking anything from others, but you know what I mean. Single barrel is exactly what it states and most will put that on their bottles cause it is more of a "premium" product. Not blending multiple barrels to get a certain flavor profile. Hence why store picks trade or sell for a little higher than the regular bottles.

Hope this helped a little. Anymore questions or anything ask away.

Premo88 and gatornation like this.
  3. TimG_0913

Trader

And all scotch, bourbon, Japanese and Canadian is whisk(e)y, not all of it is bourbon. Bourbon has to made in USA and no less than 51% corn, RYES are not bourbons, they are rye whiskeys due to the fact they mash bill is 51% or high rye.

4. Squire

Squire Poo-Bah (2,154) Jul 16, 2015 Mississippi
    Society Trader