The Slow Rise & Fall... of Braven

Discussion in 'Beer News & Releases' started by NeroFiddled, Jun 5, 2019.

1. NeroFiddled

NeroFiddled Poo-Bah (10,711) Jul 8, 2002 Pennsylvania
    Society Trader

https://vinepair.com/articles/brave...-44976825&mc_cid=26157f8427&mc_eid=d134f02872

This is an interesting article that I feel is worth reading but what I really found odd was the belief that label art is really that important in getting a beer to sell. Personally I think a lot of the labels from these new breweries look bad, or seem contrived, or even stupid IMHO. Maybe that's because I'm old, or that I'm an artist, but most of these cool new labels turn me away.

2. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Poo-Bah (4,012) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Society

Jim (@NeroFiddled) my sole experience with Braven was Bushwick Pilsner which I discussed in a NBS thread:

https://www.beeradvocate.com/community/threads/new-beer-sunday-week-657.538051/#post-5651210

“Overall

I enjoyed drinking this beer. If I had to choose a single word to describe this beer it would be malty.

The flavor profile of this beer is more reminiscent to me of a Vienna Lager vs. a Classic American Pilsner.”

As we know the Lager/Pilsner style is not what gets the Beer Geek portion of the craft beer market excited.

From the article:

“They had issues with their contract brewer going out of business with virtually no warning last winter, plus a high rent [$11,330 a month] for a space that was mostly used for beer production.” Frequent L train shutdowns and nearby competition were also significant drawbacks, he says.”

The nearby competition was one of several aspects that Braven’s owners didn’t accurately forecast as they plotted their brewery. As they told VinePair in 2016, they thought that they would have the area to themselves. Instead, Interboro opened in late 2016, when that part of Bushwick was now called East Williamsburg. Then, KCBC opened in 2017, and Grimm opened just north of Interboro in 2018.