Thoughts from a brewer on the ramifications of ABI buyouts...

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by khiasmus, May 18, 2017.

1. khiasmus

khiasmus Crusader (733) Jun 12, 2006 South Carolina
    Beer Trader

I've been wanting since the Wicked Weed buyout to write my theory of what could be coming to the craft beer world in the next few years. I don't have a much-read blog or access to a national newspaper, but decided to share my thoughts here for consideration by the beer community.

I have been involved in the beer world for many years now, though since becoming a professional brewer I have been much less active on BA other than lurking. I was in retail in one of the best beer stores in the southeast for several years, founded my own brewery and worked there for a few years, and am now the head brewer at a small regional production brewery. I am not an expert on the inner workings of multinational corporations, but have some observations about the direction of craft beer culture that I hope you will consider.

My assertion is that the Wicked Weed buyout is different from all the previous ones for several reasons, and the possible ramifications could be catastrophic to the industry we love.

First, in all the others, ABI was taking a successful mid-sized or larger craft brewery and was purchasing them in order to get a share of the profits on an established brand. This is understandable for a corporation their size, and I didn't see much backlash on any of these purchases; I even purchased BCBS with a relatively clear conscience. I know the volume number thrown around for Wicked Weed is 40,000 barrels, but according to the BA data for 2016, their annual production was only 7,000 barrels. This is not a particularly moneymaking proposition for ABI, unlike Goose Island or even Devil's Backbone.