Dismiss Notice
Extreme Beer Fest:Los Angeles

Join us December 9th in Los Angeles for the ultimate throwdown of craft beer creativity!

Learn more...
Dismiss Notice
Introducing: Project Extreme Brewing (a Dogfish Head + BeerAdvocate project)

To age or not to age?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by TwelveOunces, Jul 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TwelveOunces

TwelveOunces Initiate (0) Nov 7, 2011 Kentucky

I'm new to cellaring and I have a few beers that I am on the fence about aging.
    And how long do you think?

DFH Burton Baton
    Founders Frangelic Mountain Brown
    Founders Devil dancer
    Green Flash Le Freak

iCabaLLero likes this.
  2. Dine

Dine Initiate (0) Jun 28, 2012 Georgia

its going to be personal taste really. i would drink the devil dancer fresh. the burton is prob best suited for aging (imo) but i could also see the argument to drink it now. havnt had the frangelic yet but my guess is drink now. le freak is easy enough to get. drink one now and set one back. experiment and enjoy!

3. kbuzz

kbuzz Champion (834) Jan 22, 2011 North Carolina
    Beer Trader

Try them all now...then go get more and age...and try again later.

The burton is a great example of the fun in cellaring...it's pretty hoppy fresh, but takes on a different but equally tasty (albeit different) character later.

EDIT: the Le Freak is also a good (different) example of a fun beer to age...belgian yeast have their own aging effects...drink it now...then drink another in a year...

4. Kikkycat

Kikkycat Initiate (142) Jul 15, 2010 Maryland

I would argue against the Frangelic. Nuts can go rancid. I had a conversation about a month ago with Mike from Founders and he said the Cashew Mountain did not age well at all. Drink it now.

5. vrbulldog22

vrbulldog22 Disciple (381) Sep 5, 2010 Ohio
    Beer Trader

Burton Baton was the first beer to 'wow' me with how much it changed in just one year..

6. Kuester