To dump, or not to dump. (or how I learned to quit worrying, and love the bugs)

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Beejay, Jul 18, 2018.

?

To dump or not to dump

Poll closed Jul 20, 2018.
  1. Dump it!!

3 vote(s)
    21.4%
  2. Drink it!

9 vote(s)
    64.3%
  3. Pasteurize then drink!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Send to your enemies!

2 vote(s)
    14.3%
  1. Beejay

Beejay Poo-Bah (2,168) Dec 29, 2008 Virginia

So.. I have a bit of an embarassing dilemma, I brewed a gose (second batch) and during a very vigorous fermentation, I ended up with a lot of yeast coming through the blow off tube and running into the floor of the mini fridge I ferment in. This attracted a lot of unwanted guests.. I tried to clean what I could, but really couldn't move the fermenter at the time to do a solid cleaning job. I switched out the sanitizer jar from the blowoff tube, cleaned up what I could of the mess around the fermenter, and eliminated what I could of the bugs. Fast forward a couple days to when I could finally keg the brew. Beer looks great, smells good, tastes good, but I'm on extra high alert from before. I see one dead fruit fly in a keg.. ok.. not that big of a deal.. a number of dead guys in the jar of sanitizer from the blow off tube.. ok blowoff tube is doing what it is supposed to and keeping them out. Finally finish transfer and get to the cleaning up. Still cautious I look over my gear... maggots on the bottom of the fermenter, where I couldn't clean from before. I started cleaning everything up in my brew closet, trying to get inside to get a closer look (and more light) at my gear. Sprayed the bottom off and once I took off the sealed lid (I know it was sealed because I transferred using co2 without any leaks..) I noticed one little guy on the rim of the lid, and after a long bit of cleaning one more guy starting to slime his way into the fermenter.. with the speed he was moving my guess is he was making his way up the side while I was cleaning all the bits