Turning beer passion into supplemental income and/or career change

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by BKBassist, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BKBassist

BKBassist Initiate (0) Jan 24, 2013 New York

Unsure if this has been discussed here, I searched and couldn't find anything.
    I'm 30, single, and in a job (musical instrument sales) where I can explore my passion, but am having a tough time footing the bills. I'm commissioned, so my pay swings fairly wildly from month to month. I've been looking into the idea of turning my passion for beer into either a bit of extra dough or perhaps a full sail career change.

I took a bartending course, but have no interest in cocktails, and am getting my Certified Beer Server.

That being said, I have no experience in the food\bar industry outside of a short stint as a line cook in college.

Do you think knowledge, these certifications, a solid work ethic and knowledge\passion for the product would be enough to get me in the door for at least a trial run at a craft spot? Are there other opportunities in the industry that I am overlooking where experience might play less of a part? Appreciate any thoughts.

ThirdEyePA likes this.
  2. SatlyMalty

SatlyMalty Initiate (0) Sep 12, 2012 Washington

I think they could certainly get you in the door. Probably not as a bartender but more in an entry position like a barback/busser/host. From there you can easily move up quickly depending on how well you do.

3. Rback

Rback Crusader (477) Feb 26, 2012 New York

There is a forum on this site titled "Help Wanted". Why not ask there.

bradcochran1234 likes this.
  4. bryanole27

bryanole27 Initiate (0) Jun 24, 2011 North Carolina

I think you could get hired based on the beard and hat ALONE!

Seriously though...go for it!

5. bradcochran1234

bradcochran1234 Initiate (0) Jan 22, 2011 Georgia

Apply as a dept manager at a bigger liquor store.

6. BKBassist