Using the word beer in place of lager

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Mr3dPHD, Feb 14, 2020.

1. Mr3dPHD

Mr3dPHD Initiate (194) May 6, 2008 Florida

Can someone give me a rundown of when and why the word beer is sometimes used to in place of lager? What I mean is, instead of saying "lager and ale", why do I sometimes see people saying "beer and ale"?

I don't see it very often, and when I do, I get the feeling that it's either 1) an archaic use of the word beer which is no longer the proper use, or 2) perhaps how it is legitimately used in certain other countries (I live in the US).

Right now I'm skimming through "Grossman's Guide to Wines, Beers, and Spirits" (6th revised edition) by Harold J. Grossman. The book was published in 1977. In the book, he describes how when beer is fermented, the yeast falls to the bottom, whereas in ale it mostly rises to the top. He also mentions lagers, but only as a sub style of "beer".

I'm studying for the first episode of the podcast tonight, and it seems like something worth going into, at some point at least. Thanks guys!

Amendm, officerbill and Roguer like this.
  2. dennis3951

dennis3951 Savant (955) Mar 6, 2008 New Jersey

I have no idea why, It must be something new!!!

3. zid

zid Meyvn (1,411) Feb 15, 2010 New York
    Society Trader

It can get really complicated, but in England in the past, "beer" used to be a hopped beverage and "ale" was without hops. They were considered two different things, but those meanings evolved over time. As you know, today, beer-hobbyists generally think of beer as the top category that is then broken down into ales and lagers, but don't fall into the trap of thinking that this is somehow THE "proper" way of viewing things. (Personally, I think people took a wrong turn when they went down that road.)