Want to upgrade part of my system, not sure what to focus on.

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by GeeL, Jun 13, 2018 at 12:47 AM.

1. GeeL

GeeL Initiate (156) Aug 27, 2008 Massachusetts
    Beer Trader

Hi. I'm often looking at ways I can upgrade my brewing equipment, and every once in a while bite the bullet and do it. I've been brewing since mid-2008 and have about 165 batches under my belt. In short, my brewing system is as follows: I create starters in a 32-oz Nalgene-style water bottle, mash with a 48-qt cooler, use the batch sparge technique, add O2, ferment in plastic fermenting buckets (the kind you get in a starter kit), have a pretty solid way of controlling fermentation temp, then auto siphon into keg.

Three areas for upgrade would be 1) stir plate and flask for starters, 2) controlling mash temp because the cooler often loses 5 deg during an hour mash--sometimes as much as 10 deg--but I know most the conversion is done in 20 min so haven't been really concerned, and 3) new fermentors (eventually need two because I usually brew in pairs)

While I'm leaning toward a mash tun, I also know the temp loss is minimal the first 20-30 min which is most crucial. So, I'm curious how much a difference a stainless steel fermentor (such as SS Brewtech Beer Bucket) would make. I know the plastic is O2 permeable, but beers are rarely in there more than a few weeks. Depending on the beer or how busy I am, it might be up to a month before I transfer to keg.

So, your thoughts: is money better spent on stir plate and flask, mash temp control, or fermentor(s)?

Thanks.

2. GeeL

Beer Trader

If there's a concert about O2 permeability with the plastic bucket, I should clarify that the buckets are in a bin water (I control temp with an aquarium heater and pump). They're usually at the same depth as the beer, which likely reduces the O2 penetration. When I open it to take a sample for a gravity reading, I flood the headspace with CO2 before closing.

3. ssam