Westvleteren 12 vs Rochefort 10 and Bernardus 12

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by bochman, Mar 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bochman

bochman Initiate (0) Oct 18, 2006 Florida

I am having a blind taste test to see if the most talked about beer is really all that it is cracked up to be. Three glasses 1,2,3. Three beer bottles hidden in the next room marked 1,2,3. There will be three rounds and evaluations made. It will be recommended to consult Beer Advocate or any other site for help. Have any of you done the exact same test or something similar. I am an old guy beer veteran and my two co-tasters will be young twenty something's. Let's see what happens. I will post the results here later today.

sholle, spookyspeeg and itchytasty like this.
  2. JWing

JWing Initiate (0) Sep 3, 2012 Virginia

Having tried the Rochefort 10 and Bernardus 12, I am very interested to see your results.

3. bochman

bochman Initiate (0) Oct 18, 2006 Florida

The results were close. Westy was by far the most distinctive, easiest to recognize and it was my favorite overall pick. One other picked Westy and another chose the Rochefort. I am still undecided if the difference in quality that we noted justifies the $15 per bottle and rare availability as well. These three were all great brews. What do you have to say out there in beer land?

4. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Grand Pooh-Bah (3,181) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Pooh-Bah Society

Did you shoot a video like this guy?

Cheers!

5. RobertColianni

RobertColianni Pooh-Bah (1,705) Nov 4, 2008 Pennsylvania
    Pooh-Bah Society Trader

Rochefort 10 wins every time in a landslide.

6. RyFikes

RyFikes Initiate (0) Jan 3, 2013 New York

I haven't had all three, but Rochefort 10 is the greatest beer I've ever had.

7. coachdicarlo

coachdicarlo Initiate (0) Apr 20, 2012 Missouri

We did it and added Chimay Blue to the mix. Westy 12 won.

azorie, hallandoates and Jugs_McGhee like this.
  8. eatabagofbooger