What Beer Name Butchering Have You Seen on Menus?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by BeerNDoggerel, Dec 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BeerNDoggerel

BeerNDoggerel Initiate (0) Mar 13, 2011 Illinois

Is it that people can't spell and/or proof-read in my home area (which would be an indictment for me, as I'm a high school English teacher), or is it a common phenomenon: the butchering of brewery or beer names on local restaurant menus.

The hottest new restaurant in town lists a number of "Rouge" beers (including Yellow Snow), and it has Founders' "Red Rye." Another local hotspot has Founders' "Red Eye" on its menu.

What are the worst brewery and/or beer name butcherings you've seen?

2. yamar68

yamar68 Initiate (0) Apr 1, 2011 Minnesota

Hop Stoopid

luwak, flayedandskinned and ant880 like this.
  3. TheSixthRing

TheSixthRing Grand Pooh-Bah (3,195) Sep 24, 2008 California
    Pooh-Bah Society

Not a butchering of the name, per se, but Buffalo Wild Wings lists Bud Light Lime under their Craft Brew menu. :grimacing:

4. mychalg9

mychalg9 Pooh-Bah (2,061) Apr 8, 2010 Illinois
    Pooh-Bah Society

Laguintas

dieBlume and smutty33 like this.
  5. Jules11788

Jules11788 Initiate (0) Feb 15, 2011 California

I just smashed my head against the desk to clear it of that thought. But hey, what do you expect from a place that calls themselves "B-Dubs"

6. dmoser

dmoser Initiate (0) Sep 11, 2009 California

i don't understand why the name is so hard to pronounce that they even put it on the bottles. Almost daily I hear la-goon-tas.

7. flayedandskinned

flayedandskinned Initiate (0) Jan 1, 2011 California

The one that pisses me the most off is when IDIOTS call them Lah-Gwah-nee-tas. Like they are from Mexico or something. The said thing is that my store is like 25 miles from the brewery and some of my co workers still call them that.

8. dmoser

dmoser Initiate (0) Sep 11, 2009 California