What should I do with my cellared beer?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by stylinprofiylin, Mar 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stylinprofiylin

stylinprofiylin Initiate (0) Jan 26, 2010 California

So I've come to quite the dilemma. I recently found out that I have a terribly bad gluten allergy after a month of tests. When I drink beer I become nauseated and sick. I have never been a Heavy drinker, but i enjoyed a good mature stout every now and then.

I have been collecting and cellaring rare beers for the past 3/4 years (about 50 bottles). What the hell do I do with it all now? There is no way I can enjoy it because of all the side effects. It is really hard for me to part with it all. I have some real gems in there that I might have to part with (2010Parabola&abacus, Firestone anniversary 12-15, VerticalEpic 6/6/6-11/11/11, etc.).

Help Me, it makes me sad just looking at the stuff.

2. UCLABrewN84

UCLABrewN84 Poo-Bah (12,114) Mar 18, 2010 California

Give it away? I will be happy to take it off your hands. :wink:

3. strohme2

strohme2 Crusader (740) Nov 3, 2007 Michigan
    Subscriber Beer Trader

Thats a really big bummer. Have a tasting party? Give it to friends? Trade for whisk(e)y, bourbon, ciders, etc? Donate to BA members who respond to your thread?

In all seriousness I'm really sorry about your gluten allergy.

4. deadonhisfeet

deadonhisfeet Meyvn (1,472) Apr 23, 2011 Kentucky

Excellent suggestion.

5. RayOhioFelton

RayOhioFelton Devotee (416) May 24, 2011 Ohio
    Beer Trader

Set up LIFs for your favorite charity!

6. CasanovaCummins

CasanovaCummins Initiate (0) Jan 10, 2012 Nevada
    Beer Trader

Go on the Paleo diet, reducing your glutens for everything BUT beer. That way you can indulge on occassion.

Worked for me.

Otherwise, trade away your beer for Tequila or Rum. And Don't look back.

ehammond1 and queens1130 like this.
  7. ArrogantB

ArrogantB Poo-Bah (3,106) Jun 9, 2006 Colorado