1. Don't miss FUNK Boston: A Wild & Sour Beer Fest on June 14 & 15!

What's the oldest beer you've come across?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by officerbill, Apr 17, 2019 at 5:02 PM.

1. officerbill

officerbill Initiate (199) Feb 9, 2019 New York
    Society Trader

Last week I inadvertently bought a 4 pack of Sumatra Mountain from 12/17, it was the only one on the shelf.
    That led me to take a look at a pair of lonely, dust covered 4 packs sitting on a shelf at my supermarket.
    One was Wells Banana Bread bottled in October, 2017
    [​IMG]

and the other was Founder's Rübaeus bottled back on 06/20/2016
    [​IMG]

So, what's the most out of date beer you've found on the shelf and who's responsible for removing old beer? Is it the store, the distributor, is the brand Rep supposed to be checking?

2. tzieser

tzieser Meyvn (1,026) Nov 21, 2006 New Jersey
    Trader

2001 JW Lee's Harvest Ale. It was delicious. Crazy to think I was a freshman in High School when it was first released!

kind of a cheating answer, by the way....B United released cellared bottles for distribution about a year or go or so

3. ManBearPat

ManBearPat Devotee (441) Dec 2, 2014 Colorado

Found this a couple years ago myself...
    Straight liquid raisins in the best way possible

4. Domingo

Domingo Poo-Bah (2,291) Apr 23, 2005 Colorado
    Society

Some intentionally stock vintage items, so I won't count those.
    The oldest beer I've ever stumbled upon was a Paulaner Hefeweizen that was more than 5 years old. They must have had a dozen or more that old on a random cooler shelf. It was a decent store, too. There were a few other 2+ year old German singles in there with it. I actually wanted to buy one, so I was annoyed. I told the beer guy and he just shrugged.

I sent an email to the ownership and 2 weeks later they gutted that entire section and actually stated taking beer pretty seriously.

5. DoghouseReilly3946

DoghouseReilly3946 Aspirant (291) Aug 17, 2018 Kentucky