What's your story, home brewers?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by InVinoVeritas, Aug 12, 2018.

1. InVinoVeritas

InVinoVeritas Devotee (415) Apr 16, 2012 Wisconsin

So for some reason, I couldn't for the life of me remember what year I started brewing. My first equipment was purchased via Craigslist, so fortunately I could look up the date within email, which was 3/18/2013.

My back story is two fold.

Part one, I fell in love with craft trying Belhaven Wee Heavy at a now closed craft bar. At the time, 2001, The Brickskeller Washington DC, had about 1,000 different beers. I asked the bar where I could get Belhaven, Chevy Chase Liquor was their response. From there I started trying all sorts of new beers and keeping track of the one's I like, scoring 1 to 5 via Excel - engineer here.

Part two, before I started home brewing, I was trading beers. My wife hated the wasted money of shipment. So I made the beer trade of a lifetime and trading stoping trades for blessing to start brewing.

So what's your story? Why, how, or when, did you start home brewing?

Lukass, Prep8611, Buck89 and 5 others like this.
  2. pweis909

pweis909 Poo-Bah (1,755) Aug 13, 2005 Wisconsin
    Premium

In 1985, a college friend returned from a semester in the UK. He brought a stash of bottles with him back to campus: Guinness, Newcastle, Whitbread, and Sam Smith (Pale Ale, Oatmeal Stout, Taddy Porter). Piqued my interest, as I only knew macrolagers. I have loved English beers ever since.

Christmas 1986, my brother gave me an English ale homebrew kit. I believe it was a Coopers English Pale Ale, can and kilo kit. I didn't brew it right away. When I did, (summer of 87 or 88?) I made lousy beer. Old ingredients, no knowledge of sanitation. I'd brew about 1 extract batch a year for 2-3 more years and tried to convince myself it was good. It wasn't.