Will Work for Beer: Volunteering in the Brewing Industry Offers Advantages Along With Risks

Discussion in 'Article Comments' started by BeerAdvocate, Nov 3, 2017.

1. BeerAdvocate

BeerAdvocate Founders (17,679) Aug 23, 1996 Massachusetts

2. BeanBump

BeanBump Devotee (411) Dec 14, 2016 California

Im sort of torn on this. I can see how volunteering in craft brew helps whatever brewery you volunteer at but I feel like simply buying their beer has the same effect, as you're contributing to their profit either way but just buying relieves the brewery from any potential workplace injuries.

Duckaduck likes this.
  3. Alexmc2

Alexmc2 Zealot (522) Jul 29, 2006 Massachusetts
    Society

I'm not torn. It is unethical, should be illegal. I worked in the beer industry for almost 10 years, never in an unpaid position. The practice harms wages and allows inefficient businesses to continue to exist at the expense of the market at large. I refuse to buy from any brewery that uses this practice.

From the story: “Any way you can watch your overhead allows us to spend more money on research and development, buying different types of hops, and really focusing on our beer,” Chapman says. “Through the volunteer program, we’ve noticed that we can tap into the community and people that feel strongly [about] what craft is all about.” Sorry bro, run a better business. If you can't afford to "do R&D" AND pay your workers, you need to rethink your business model.

Pay your workers. End of story.

4. BeanBump

Maybe Im interpreting you wrong but you seem to be borderline attacking me. I actually advocated that people should just buy beer instead of volunteer. I'm "torn" because I get that people want to help and be part of it but I'm not convinced its actually helping. Also, I dont work in beer.

Cheers.

5. Alexmc2

Society

Nope! Sorry it read that way. I'm attacking businesses that utilize this practice. I totally get your statement, which is absolutely reasonable.