Zinfandel

Discussion in 'Other Beverages' started by VitisVinifera, Apr 21, 2019.

1. VitisVinifera

VitisVinifera Initiate (119) Feb 25, 2013 California

This is shameless, but I love Zin. I make Zin. I buy, drink, and collect Zins. So let's talk about Zin. I think a lot of dark beer drinkers would find Zin to be an excellent choice.

So for me:
    Love the Russian River Valley Zins. Carlisle and Hartford.

Amador:so many good old vineyards here. Shenandoah Valley Vineyards, Turley, Easton, Rundquist. I used to go wine tasting in Amador frequently, haven't in the last few years, need to do this again and see how things are going.

Lodi: m2, Macchia, Klinker Brick. Lodi has a lot of old vine Zin vineyards, probably the most in the world. Full disclosure, I work in the Lodi wine industry. I make Zins, I love and buy the grapes from these historic old head trained, own-rooted vines.

Zinfandel rules. It's California's grape.

drtth, John_M, meefmoff and 6 others like this.
  2. Hoos78

Hoos78 Aspirant (244) Mar 3, 2015 Ohio

Regusci in the Stag's Leap has a small block of old vine Zin that I buy several bottles of, yearly. It is my go-to for grilling and deck- imbibing. My guests always love it and are surprised as Regusci Is a bit under the radar, but their product is oh so good.

3. VitisVinifera

wow there's Zin in SLD? I'd love to try it. That's prime Cab territory of course, but kudos to the producers who allow a bit of landspace to leave some Zin vines in.

Hoos78 likes this.
  4. Hoos78

I believe they may be the only farm growing/producing Zin in SLD. They do much more volume in Cab, but some of their prime blocks, with just the right amount of stress, are old vine Zin. It is really delightful.

They are not available in retail, only direct purchase. The property is well worth a visit and they are among the kindest, most genuine stewards in the region.

5. eppCOS

eppCOS Champion (891) Jun 27, 2015 Colorado
    Society