Anchor Steam Beer

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Brew-Thru, Jul 5, 2019.

1. Brew-Thru

Brew-Thru Initiate (179) Jan 8, 2017 Virginia
    Society

Haven't had an Anchor Steam beer in a long time. Yesterday stopped at Wegmans and treated myself to a 6 pack of Anchor Steam.

Enjoying one after working in the garden with high heat and humidity today.

Realize, IMO, Anchor Steam tastes very similar to a mild Octoberfest. I don't recall Anchor Steam tasting similar to an Octoberfest or reminding of me of an Octoberfest the last time (many years ago) I enjoyed an Anchor Steam beer.

Perhaps my tastes have changed? I realize as we age this happens.

Or, has Anchor Steam beer changed? (I know they are now owned by Sapporo Breweries Ltd)

Or, have my beer tasting abilities improved as I've been homebrewing since 1995?

2. steveh

steveh Poo-Bah (2,214) Oct 8, 2003 Illinois

Depending on your impressions of Oktoberfest, I can see equating Steam to the style. The fruity esters from higher fermentation and the (usual) hop character in Steam set it apart from a typical Bavarian Okto, but the Steam's malt character is reminiscent.

I've had a six or 2 since the new owners started brewing Anchor Steam and haven't found big changes from the past, but it's been almost a year since I last tried it -- so I could be way off base.

EMH73, deanzaZZR, JLaw55 and 5 others like this.
  3. PapaGoose03

PapaGoose03 Poo-Bah (2,432) May 30, 2005 Michigan
    Society

It's been years since I had an Anchor Steam, but it always seemed like just another adjunct lager to me but with just a tiny extra bit of flavor. I'll have to pick up some to revisit this beer to see if I'm missing something.

4. DoctorZombies

DoctorZombies Poo-Bah (2,982) Feb 1, 2015 Florida
    Society Trader

I drank one a week or two ago after a 3 year hiatus...didn’t like it 3 years ago, didn’t like it now...reminds me of rancid sweet apple juice, with a vegetable hoppy vibe...not my kind of lager. Cheers!