Another Foam Thread...I'm Blaming Fat Tire

Discussion in 'Home Bar' started by HawgFan, Oct 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HawgFan

HawgFan Initiate (0) Oct 28, 2013 Colorado

Hey all! I'm a kegerator newbie. I bought a Danby tower model at Costco a couple of weeks ago, shortly followed by a half barrel of Fat Tire. I sat up my system at 38 degrees, 12 PSI, using 5 ft of 3/16 beer line (came with the kegerator). I got 90% foam my first, second, and third pour.

Oh, by the way, I live in N. Colorado Springs... about 7,000 ft altitude.

I started reading lots of great posts from lots of great sites and made a few changes. I installed copper tubing in my tower to chill my line (although this wasn't my main problem, as EVERY pour was foamy), and I replaced my short beer line with 21 feet of 3/16 line (yes, I said 21 feet).

Now when I pour a pint, I get about 60% beer, 40% foam (on every pour, using clean glass chilled in fridge). Definitely an improvement, but still not good. My beer line is filled solid with beer (i.e. no visible air pockets). If I drop the pressure in my keg to 6 PSI I get a GREAT pour, but obviously this will flatten my beer over the long term.

So what more can I do? Is it the high altitude that's causing this, or perhaps my Fat Tire is over carbonated? I choose to blame my beer at this point (since I'm out of ideas).

Thanks for any ideas!!

2. zero_signal

zero_signal Initiate (0) Aug 8, 2013 New Jersey
    Beer Trader

Lol why do you have 21 ft of beer line ??? And did you use a quality calibrated thermometer to take your temperatures ?

3. paulys55

paulys55 Zealot (581) Aug 2, 2010 Pennsylvania
    Beer Trader

Yes, need more info. I too am curious about the 21ft...

4. HawgFan