Autumn Ales?

Discussion in 'Northwest' started by BeerKangaroo, Oct 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BeerKangaroo

BeerKangaroo Initiate (0) May 30, 2011 Alaska
    Deactivated

I know I'm new to this Northwest region of BA, but the only brews I've seen for Autumn have been pumpkin ales. Good stuff from what I've had but what about any other Autumn seasonals, any ESB's, saisons, brown ales, etc? "Bueller....Bueller..."

If Anchor (and that's comin' from CA) can send their Autumn Maple Red up, what's up with the rest of the Northwest?

Cheers.

2. beertunes

beertunes Poo-Bah (7,814) Sep 24, 2007 Kiribati
    Society Trader

It's not going to help you at all, but... Boundary Bay changed the recipe on their "Harvest Ale" a couple years ago. It used to be sort of like a Brown Ale, they now call it "Harvest Rye", and I'd say it's more like a smooth Amber, with a slight tang. They've been offering a Fresh Hop version at the brewery recently (and, a few kegs may have made it South. Or not, I don't know) that's pretty nice. All that said, in WA/OR, "Harvest beers" can probably generally be considered the Fresh Hop brews that have been around the last 6-8 weeks. Some get bottled, you could probably set up a trade pretty easily.

BeerKangaroo likes this.
  3. BeerKangaroo

Deactivated

Hey, thanx, that's what I was lookin' for, not sure if I can find it up here yet.

4. Reidrover

Reidrover Poo-Bah (3,938) Jan 14, 2003 Oregon
    Society

Yup mostly Fresh Hop ales and very local and very short lived.
    I cant recall 'Autumn" or "Fall" ales being traditional to the PNW scene.

BeerKangaroo likes this.
  5. PetitChouffe

PetitChouffe Initiate (101) Sep 28, 2009 Washington

When does Auld Acquaintance come out? I feel that as more of a fall thing than a winter warmer.

6. PDX_dennis

PDX_dennis Initiate (0) Dec 28, 2012 Oregon