Bioengineered Yeast

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by pweis909, Sep 13, 2019.

1. pweis909

pweis909 Poo-Bah (1,841) Aug 13, 2005 Wisconsin
    Society

PapaGoose03 likes this.
  2. RaulMondesi

RaulMondesi Poo-Bah (2,087) Dec 11, 2006 California
    Trader

Bioengineered as in GMO? Don’t fuck with Mother Nature. If that is what this is, these scumbags can go to hell.

mngermanshepherd, tone77 and DISKORD like this.
  3. pweis909

Society

Yes, bioengineering is a term for gmo, in my estimation, but I have no knowledge of what they did here, molecularly.

I thought it was interesting that they were going there, especially with this lactic souring effect, given that there was a story not too long ago about a wild yeast discovery that produces a similar effect:
    https://beerandbrewing.com/a-surprise-in-the-yeast/

When I first saw the Lallemand press release, I thought it was about a commercial production of this wild strain. But that doesn't appear to be the case; the Lallemand yeast is described as Saccharomyces cerevisiae, not a new species of yeast.

#3 pweis909, Sep 13, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019
    PapaGoose03 likes this.
  4. hopfenunmaltz

hopfenunmaltz Meyvn (1,466) Jun 8, 2005 Michigan

I had a beer at HomebrewCon Pro-Brewers night that was made with that yeast. They had worked with Lallamand. We were warned that it was super sour, but I thought it was not as sour as I was warned. That's what I remember about it.

5. PapaGoose03

PapaGoose03 Poo-Bah (2,491) May 30, 2005 Michigan
    Society

It sounds like the big benefit is faster fermentation/souring by skipping the souring step, but it also sounds like the sour taste MAY be so intense that blending with another yeast or blending with a non-sour batch of beer is recommended. That sounds like some unpredictability in the end result of the beer depending on the blending skill of the brewer. That could be tricky until the skill is achieved.