1. Looking to trade some beers? Check out How to Get Started with Beer Trading.
Dismiss Notice
We're celebrating 10 years of BeerAdvocate magazine with $10 print subscriptions for US residents.

Subscribe now!

Bo and Luke trade advice

Discussion in 'Beer Trading Talk' started by McUbermensch, Sep 11, 2013.

1. McUbermensch

McUbermensch Feb 18, 2013 Kentucky
    Beer Trader

I was offered a bottle of either Hunahpu, '12 parabola, '11 parabola, or rye whiskey barrel aged Old Guardian for a bottle of Bo and Luke. The offer was made on Instagram and I'm very new to trading so I'm not 100% sure about this trade. All those offered are on my list of beers I'd like to have I'm just not sure if the trade is even. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. maximum12

maximum12 Jan 21, 2008 Minnesota
    Beer Trader

I don't know much about Bo & Luke (except it's delicious) but if you're happy with the trade, then it's fair.

Objectively, Parabola is a widely distributed (but great) BA stout that trades for pretty much anything. Hunahpu's is a brewery-only release of about 3K bottles if I recall correctly. Whiskey Barrel Aged Old Guardian is, well, I have no idea. For the Huna is probably "fair".

3. atoulouk

atoulouk Apr 25, 2011 Indiana
    Beer Trader

Huna was a lot more than 3,000 bottles IIRC. I believe they said the BA Huna this year was around 2-3k. Personally, I think a Huna and a Parabola-ish type beer would be a fair trade.

tronto likes this.
  4. McUbermensch

Beer Trader

Thanks for the advice. I think I'll counter and see if another bottle can be thrown in. What would my chances be of getting a Cherry Rye for a Bo and Luke? Would I need to offer more?

5. McUbermensch

Beer Trader

6. tronto

tronto Dec 22, 2010 Kentucky
    Beer Trader