Capping on foam

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by AceMaster, Feb 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AceMaster

AceMaster Initiate (0) Jan 23, 2012 Iowa

Hi fellow brewers I'm new to Homebrew and was taught that brews should be capped about half inch before the top of the bottle but have heard of folks capping on foam as you would with a growler does this make a difference for the carbing stage bc all of my brews have turned out well and heavily carbonated thanks for any replies

2. VikeMan

VikeMan Meyvn (1,416) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania
    Beer Trader

Not sure what you mean about "does this make a difference for he carbing stage" question. Capping on foam refers to bottling beer that has already been carbonated. When you do this, there will be space between the beer and the top of the bottle, fillerd (temporarily) with foam. The reason for capping on foam is to displace air to keep some of the oxygen out of the bottle.

You can't really cap on foam with beer that hasn't been carbonated. Well, you could, but the amount of agitation needed to produce the foam in a pre-carbonated beer would introduce more O2 to the beer.

bgjohnston and Mothergoose03 like this.
  3. OldSock

OldSock Defender (654) Apr 3, 2005 District of Columbia
    Subscriber

In addition, it isn’t as essential to get the all of the oxygen out of the bottle when you are bottle conditioning. As the yeast eat the priming sugar, they will also scavenge some of the oxygen dissolved in the beer. The less oxygen the better, especially for hoppy beers, but you don’t need to go to extraordinary lengths to have homebrew that tastes great a few months post-bottling.

bgjohnston and JackHorzempa like this.
  4. AceMaster

Thanks for the post I answered my own question after posting bc I realized like u said I can't cap on foam for beer that isn't yet carbed like say for a growler

5. FarmerTed

FarmerTed Aspirant (280) May 31, 2011 Colorado